Image by Tim Atkin MW - A line up of old wines at Marqués de Riscal 


The Symposium takes place at the RiojaForum in Logroño (Calle San Millán, 23-25, 26004), a city in northern Spain, on the River Ebro. It is the capital of the autonomous community of La Rioja.
Logroño is an ancient port city that was originally settled by the Romans under the name of Vareia. It was then under the control of the Celts before possession was disputed between the kings of Navarre and the kings of Castile.  The region was finally annexed to Castile, and in 1095 Alfonso VI of Castile granted Logroño a charter of rights that served as a model for other Spanish cities.
Logroño is the shopping and financial capital of La Rioja, and is famous for its taperías (tapas restaurants), which are reputed to serve the best best pinchos and tapas in northern Spain.
The historic centre has significant cultural sites, such as the Cathedral of Santa María la Redonda (15th-18th centuries). It is also home to la Museo de la Rioja (the Rioja Museum).
The famous Camino de Santiago passes through the city.  The 12th century Codex Calixtinus, the first guide to the Pilgrim's Way to Santiago de Compostela, mentions Logroño. Many centuries of pilgrims have contributed to the city's situation as a cultural crossroads.

La Rioja

The Rioja denomination (Denominación de Origen Calificada - D.O.Ca.) takes its name from La Rioja. However, Rioja is made from grapes grown not only in the Autonomous Community of La Rioja, but also in parts of Navarre and the Basque province of Álava. Rioja is further subdivided into three zones: Rioja Alta, Rioja Baja and Rioja Alavesa.

The Rioja denomination, with over 2,000 years of wine producing history, is the leading wine region of Spain, which is in turn one of the world’s largest wine producing and exporting countries. Rioja has more than 500 wineries, including some of the oldest and most famous bodegas in the world, and more than 63,000 hectares under vine.