Select Page

Annual awards ceremony

GBP 0.00

Out of stock


This event has passed.

One ticket per MW only

After a hiatus in 2020, we are delighted to host the annual awards ceremony this December. We will celebrate MWs from both the 2020 and 2021 vintages, plus we will honour the MWs who have reached their 50th and 60th MW anniversaries.

Due to venue capacity and travel restrictions, an additional ceremony has been added to the IMW calendar on 23 March 2022. Below, you can see the MWs who will be honoured at each ceremony.

Following the additional March event in 2022, we expect the awards ceremony to resume as usual to one event at the end of each year.

We will also be presenting prizes to individual MWs of the 2020 vintage who have shone in particular parts of the MW exam during the December ceremony.

Individual prizes for the 2021 vintage will be awarded at the ceremony in March.

Space at the venue is limited, so registrations are essential if you wish to attend. Once the event reaches full capacity, you will be added to the waitlist and notified if spaces become available.

Please take the time to read through the COVID-19 guidelines below, as you must to adhere to these if you wish to attend the ceremony.

For the first time, the awards ceremony will be live-streamed should you not be able to attend.

The Bordeaux tasting (2016 vintage) will take place in the morning at Vintners’ Hall. As an MW, you’ll have priority to purchase tickets before these go on general sale. You can purchase your tickets from Thursday 21 October at 14:00 BST.


17:30 – Bollinger reception
18:30 – Awards ceremony (followed by a drinks reception with canapés)
21:00 – Close

Registering for the awards

All Masters of Wine are eligible to attend the annual awards ceremony at no cost. However, capacity is strictly limited, and attendance will be granted on a first-come, first-served basis. MWs may register ONE ticket – any duplicate orders will be deleted. MWs receiving awards do not need to re-register if you have already confirmed your attendance and guests with the IMW office. Select the ‘Add to basket’ button at the top of the page to register. If you have any dietary or venue requirements (e.g. lift access), please disclose this during registration.

If the event is at capacity, please email Belinda Eaton, to be added to the waitlist.

MWs who will be honoured at each ceremony (subject to change)
1 December 2021Mike Best MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Vanessa Conlin MW2020United States
1 December 2021Róisín Curley MW2020Ireland
1 December 2021Tracey Dobbin MW2020France
1 December 2021Christophe Heynen MW2020Belgium
1 December 2021Elizabeth Kelly MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Ido Lewinsohn MW2020Israel
1 December 2021Lin Liu MW2020France
1 December 2021William Lowe MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Curtis Mann MW2020United States
1 December 2021Ray O’Connor MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Beth Pearce MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Adam Porter MW2020United Kingdom
1 December 2021Philip Goodband MW1970United States
23 March 2022Beans Boughton MW2020United Arab Emirates
23 March 2022Jacqueline Cole Blisson MW2020Canada
23 March 2022Heidi Iren Hansen MW2020Norway
23 March 2022Pasi Ketolainen MW2020Finland
23 March 2022Annette Lacey MW2020Australia
23 March 2022Geoffrey Moss MW2020Canada
23 March 2022Ross Wise MW2020Canada
23 March 2022James Doidge MW2021United Kingdom
23 March 2022Gabriele Gorelli MW2021Italy
23 March 2022Susan Lin MW2021United States
23 March 2022Álvaro Ribalta MW2021Spain
23 March 2022Tze Sam MW2021United Kingdom
23 March 2022Kryss Speegle MW2021United States
23 March 2022Claire Blackler MW2021United Kingdom
23 March 2022Michael Henley MW2021New Zealand
23 March 2022Moritz Nikolaus Lueke MW2021Germany
23 March 2022Clare Tooley MW2021United States
23 March 2022Melissa Saunders MW2021United States
23 March 2022Siobhan Turner MW2021United Kingdom
1 November 2022Duane Coates MW2020Australia
1 November 2022Louise Wilson MW2020Canada
1 November 2022Sophie Parker-Thomson MW2021New Zealand
Individual awards

IMW Chair’s Award – for top performance in the business of wine paper
Taransaud Tonnellerie Award – for excellent knowledge in the production and handling of wine paper
Villa Maria Award – for outstanding knowledge and understanding of viticulture
Robert Mondavi Winery Award – for best performance across all of the theory papers
Madame Bollinger Medal – for extraordinary tasting ability
The Noval Award – for the best research paper
IMW Outstanding Achievement Award – for exceptional performance in all areas of the MW exam

MW 50th anniversaries (1970-2020)

Philip Goodband MW
John Salvi MW
Sarah Morphew Stephen MW

MW 50th anniversaries (1971-2021)

Nick Clarke MW
Clive Coates MW

COVID-19 guidelines

The attendee acknowledges the risk associated with attending live events and agrees that the IMW is not liable for illness. The IMW operates in accordance with government guidelines but reserves the right to include additional measures for the safety of guests and staff.

All guests attending this event must adhere to the following:

  • Masks must be worn upon arrival at the venue. These may be removed after registration is complete.
  • Proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within the last 48 hours must be provided upon entry.
    • Either a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) OR lateral flow test (LFT also known as rapid test) is permitted.
    • For self-administered tests please register the negative result as per the instructions on the pack to receive the confirmation text/email. Show the text/email at registration.
    • For administered tests please show the negative test certificate/email at registration.
    • Lateral flow tests are readily available free of charge in the UK. You can request these through the NHS or collect from most pharmacies. Find out more here.
    • If you are travelling to the event and already require a negative flight for your test this may be eligible. Please confirm with Belinda Eaton,
Digital awards ceremony 2020