Select Page

Award winning Masters of Wine include 100th woman MW

Award winning Masters of Wine include 100th woman MW

The Institute of Masters of Wine welcomed six new Members last night at its Annual Award Ceremony and Reception, held in the London home of the 650-year-old Vintners’ Company.

Prize-winning new MWs at this year’s ceremony, who were honoured for their exceptional performance in the Master of Wine Examination, included wine writers Natasha Hughes MW (UK), who won four of the seven awards available, and Anne Krebiehl MW (Germany), who won two.

Louise Sydbeck MW (Sweden), who won the coveted Bollinger Medal for tasting, became the one hundredth female Master of Wine when she was presented with her certificate by Institute Chairman Sarah Jane Evans MW and Master Vintner Rupert Clevely.

Sarah Jane Evans MW, addressing the new Members, said: “This is an exciting and special day for all Masters of Wine. We all remember the moment that we were welcomed into the Institute here at Vintners’ Hall. Watching you live this experience today is a reminder to all of us of the effort it takes to reach this goal, and of the rewards and lifelong friendships that come as a result of achieving it. Many congratulations to all of you for your hard work, diligence, and dedication.”

The Annual Reception is traditionally the Institute’s largest gathering of its worldwide community each year. Masters of Wine flew in from the United States, Australia, South Africa, and from all over Europe to welcome their new fellow Members, who were joined in their celebrations by family and friends. Robin Kick MW (US), Robert MacCulloch MW (UK) and Nicholas Paris MW (US) completed the 2014 new cohort.

The full list of awards was as follows:

The Villa Maria Award is awarded to the new Master of Wine who shows outstanding knowledge and understanding of viticulture in their exams. Philip Tuck MW of Hatch Mansfield, representing Villa Maria, presented the award to Anne Krebiehl MW.

The Errázuriz Award is for performance in the Business of Wine examination. Philip Tuck MW presented the award on behalf of Eduardo Chadwick of Viña Errázuriz to Natasha Hughes MW.

The Robert Mondavi Winery Award is presented for outstanding performance across all of the Theory papers. Mark de Vere MW of Constellation Wines presented the award to Natasha Hughes MW.

The Taransaud Tonnellerie Award is for excellence in the Production and Handling of Wine paper. Sarah Jane Evans MW presented the award on behalf of Henri de Pracomtal of Taransaud to Natasha Hughes MW.

The Bollinger Medal is awarded as recognition of outstanding tasting ability. Etienne Bizot of the Mme Bollinger Foundation presented the award to Louise Sydbeck MW.

The Noval Award, sponsored by Quinta da Noval, part of AXA Millésimes, is awarded for the best Dissertation by a new Master of Wine. Christian Seely, Managing Director of AXA Millésimes, presented the award to Anne Krebiehl MW for her dissertation The Future of Premium German Pinot Noir.

The Institute of Masters of Wine Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by the Austrian Wine Marketing Board, is awarded to a candidate who was outstanding in all parts of the exam. Willi Klinger of the Austrian Wine Marketing Board presented the award to Natasha Hughes MW.

Ends (06 Nov 2014)

Image: Natasha Hughes MW, Nicholas Paris MW, Louise Sydbeck MW, Rupert Clevely (Master Vintner), Sarah Jane Evans MW (Chairman of the Institute of Masters of Wine), Robert MacCulloch MW, Robin Kick MW, Anne Krebiehl MW.

Ben McKeown
Communications Manager, Institute of Masters of Wine
T: +44 (0)207 383 9131