Select Page

Champagne Bollinger welcomes Masters Of Wine Auction prize winners on a VIP visit to Champagne

Champagne Bollinger welcomes Masters Of Wine Auction prize winners on a VIP visit to Champagne

Champagne Bollinger was delighted to welcome the successful bidders of the Masters of Wine Endowment Auction prize for a VIP visit to the House in Aÿ in Champagne. The trip was hosted by Etienne Bizot, President of the Bollinger Family Group (SJB) and Chairman of the Madame Bollinger Foundation, and Andrew Hawes, Managing Director of Mentzendorff and Secretary of the Foundation, which took place on 03-04 June 2019.

The Masters of Wine Endowment Auction took place in November 2017 and raised over £1.1 million from a live auction of super lots and an online auction. The super lots, including the trip to Bollinger, were bid on at a dinner and live auction at Bonhams, London. Bidders competed for 18 super lots, once-in-a-lifetime experiences from the great wine regions of the world.

The money raised from the auction is for an Endowment Fund, held by the Masters of Wine Endowment Company. The Fund will enable the Institute of Masters of Wine to extend its range of activities in the global wine world, enhance the support it gives to Members worldwide and encourage the Masters of Wine of the future.

The winners of the auction prize, Peter and Sharon Nagle, were hosted on a two-day in depth VIP visit of the vineyard and cellar, followed by an exclusive lunch hosted at Madame Bollinger’s house. Whilst they were there, Bizot also presented them with a rare 1914 Vintage bottle of Bollinger Champagne as part of their winning bid.

The association between the Madame Bollinger Foundation and the IMW dates back over 30 years. Created by Etienne’s father, Christian Bizot, to commemorate the memory of his aunt, Lily Bollinger, The Madame Bollinger Foundation was the original supporter of the IMW in 1987, with the first Madame Bollinger Medal awarded in 1988. The highly prized Medal is presented each year and is awarded for outstanding achievement in the Masters of Wine practical examinations to the candidate with the highest practical exam mark. In May 2018, the 30th Anniversary of the Madame Bollinger Medal was celebrated in London, with the 29 previous award winners invited to a lunch and presented with a commemorative medal. Today, the Madame Bollinger Foundation remains one of only five Principal Supporters of the IMW.


For more information contact:
Sarah Kirkpatrick, Head of Marketing, Communications and Membership
Institute of Masters of Wine
T: +44 (0)207 383 9131

Anna Woodbridge, Communications Manager, Mentzendorff
T: 020 7840 3600

Notes to Editors:

About the Institute of Masters of Wine (IMW)
The Institute of Masters of Wine (IMW) is a membership organisation with an exceptional international reputation. For almost 70 years, its members – the Masters of Wine (MWs) – have been at the forefront of leadership and expertise in the world of wine.  The IMW’s mission is to promote excellence, interaction and learning across all sectors of the global wine community. MWs prove their comprehensive understanding of wine by passing the MW examination, recognised worldwide for its rigour and exacting standards. In addition to passing the examination, members must sign the code of conduct before they are entitled to use the initials MW. This requires them to act with honesty and integrity, and use every opportunity to share their knowledge of wine with others.  Today, there are 382 Masters of Wine working in 30 countries. The membership encompasses winemakers, sommeliers, buyers, journalists, shippers, consultants, academics, educators and more. There are 359 students in the MW study programme from over 45 countries.

About Champagne Bollinger
Established, in 1829, Champagne Bollinger is one of the few remaining family-owned Champagne Houses. Located in Aÿ, the heart of the Montagne de Reims, it sits amidst 170 hectares of the finest Grand and Premier Cru vineyards, which are owned by the house, and has held a Royal Warrant continuously since first awarded by Queen Victoria in 1884. For more information, visit