Select Page

Fourteen Masters of Wine inaugurated at the IMW annual awards ceremony

Fourteen Masters of Wine inaugurated at the IMW annual awards ceremony

The Institute of Masters of Wine has officially welcomed 14 new Masters of Wine to its membership at the IMW’s annual awards ceremony in London.

The ceremony celebrates the induction of the new MWs to the IMW and recognises individual excellence in all aspects of the MW examination. There are now 380 MWs based in 30 different countries.

The fourteen MWs passed all parts of the MW examination in 2018 and were announced in March and September this year. The 2018 vintage are: Almudena Alberca MW (Spain); Cassidy Dart MW (UK); Job de Swart MW (Netherlands); Barbara Drew MW (UK); Caroline Hermann MW (USA); Olga Karapanou Crawford MW (USA); Regine Lee MW (UK); Elsa Macdonald MW (Canada); Simon Milroy MW (UK); Thomas Parker MW (UK); Lindsay Pomeroy MW (USA); Nicolas Quillé MW (USA); Martin Reyes MW (USA); and Tim Triptree MW (UK).

Sponsored by Supporters of the IMW, individual awards were given during the ceremony to the MWs who performed exceptionally in a particular area of the MW examination.

Job de Swart MW received the Taransaud Tonnellerie Award, for his excellent knowledge in the production and handling of wine. The award was presented to Job by Adrian Garforth MW, Chairman of the IMW.

The Noval Award, sponsored by Quinta do Noval, part of AXA Millésimes, is awarded for the best research paper by a new MW. Christian Seely, Managing Director of AXA Millésimes presented the honour to Tim Triptree MW for his research paper Reserve wine use in Brut NV Champagne: trends, causes and implications.

Nicolas Quillé MW was rewarded three times on the evening. He received the Villa Maria Prize for his outstanding knowledge and understanding of viticulture and the Errazuriz Award for his performance in the business of wine exam, both presented by Phil Tuck MW, from Hatch Mansfield. For his outstanding performance across all of the theory papers in the MW examination, Mark de Vere MW of Constellation Brands presented the Robert Mondavi Winery Award to Nicolas.

For her outstanding tasting ability, Lindsay Pomeroy MW received the Bollinger Medal, presented by Etienne Bizot, Chairman of the Madame Bollinger Foundation and great-nephew of Madame Bollinger. Lindsay also received the final accolade of the evening, the Austrian Wine Marketing Board Outstanding Achievement Award. Presented by Willi Klinger, Managing Director of AWMB, this award was given to Lindsay for her overall performance in all areas of the MW examination.

Adrian Garforth MW, Chairman of the IMW said, “It’s an honour to officially welcome the 2018 vintage to our membership. The awards ceremony is a special day in the IMW calendar, as Masters of Wine fly in from around the world to join the new Masters of Wine, their family and friends, to celebrate their outstanding achievement.”


For more information contact:
Sarah Kirkpatrick
Head of Marketing, Communications and Membership
Institute of Masters of Wine
+44 (0)207 383 9131