Select Page

Recipient of Inaugural Esterházy Bursary Announced

Recipient of Inaugural Esterházy Bursary Announced

The Institute of Masters of Wine and the Esterházy Foundation, one of its major supporters, are delighted to announce that Patrick Schmitt is the recipient of the inaugural Esterházy Bursary.

Patrick is a first year student in the Institute’s study programme which prepares candidates for the Masters of Wine Examination. He is based in London and is Editor of the wine and spirits industry publication The Drinks Business.

His success was announced on 19 January at a reception hosted at Schloss Esterházy during the Institute’s residential seminar in Rust, Austria, for first year students.

The bursary is open to 1st and 2nd year students of the Institute and consists of £2,000 which can be set against Institute education or examination fees.

Entries had to be submitted in the form of an essay, written in either English or German, addressing the following topic:

“Central European wine identity: myth or reality?”

More than 270 students from 28 different countries are currently studying towards the Master of Wine title with the Institute. There are currently 288 Masters of Wine in the world, based across 23 different countries. Established in 1953, Master of Wine remains the most highly respected and hardest to attain professional qualification in the world of wine today.

Dr. Stefan Ottrubay, General Manager of the Esterházy Foundation said: “We were impressed by the quality of entries for the bursary and are delighted to be able to support Patrick in his studies towards achieving the wine industry’s most respected title.”

Lynne Sherriff MW, Chairman of the Institute, said: “The Esterházy Foundation contributes to both our international education and events programmes since it became a major supporter of our work in 2009. This bursary provides valuable assistance to wine professionals who aspire to be amongst the next generation of Masters of Wine and our congratulations go to Patrick on becoming its first ever recipient.”